School Districts and Private Schools in the San Antonio Metro Area

For further information on San Antonio metro area school districts, visit

Democracy requires an educated populace. The San Antonio metro area’s public schools meet this goal quite well. But parents will also find excellent private institutions that reinforce belief systems, address learning difficulties, and/or deliver enhanced opportunities for intellectual development.

Brackenridge High School

Early Beginnings

According to the Texas Education Agency (, research confirms the value of early education for young children. Prekindergarten programs that support effective teaching practices have been shown to lead to important growth in children’s intellectual and social development. There are over 150 pre-k facilities in the San Antonio metro area.

In addition, private schools, religious schools and special needs schools abound throughout the area.

Check out the accompanying charts which elaborate on all school categories previously mentioned, and in addition, public school districts of which there are fifteen in San Antonio and eight in surrounding cities.

Alamo Heights Independent School District ( encompasses the cities of Alamo Heights, Terrell Hills, Olmos Park and a small portion of San Antonio. The curriculum is highlighted by a strong gifted and talented program, special education programs and the first Spanish Immersion program in Texas.

Boerne Independent School District ( places a high priority on education. As of 2019, it has a student population of 9,579 students.

Comal Independent School District ( is based in New Braunfels, TX. It covers 589 square miles in five central Texas counties: Comal, Bexar, Hays, Kendall, and Guadalupe.

East Central Independent School District ( is a public school district located in the eastern central portion of Bexar County. The district includes portions of San Antonio and China Grove.

Edgewood Independent School District ( is one of the most historical districts in San Antonio, dating back to 1903.

Floresville Independent School District ( is based in Floresville TX. Located in Wilson County, a very small portion of the district extends into Bexar County.

The Fort Sam Houston Independent School District ( was formed in 1951 and opened in 1952 for the purpose of serving the children of military personnel residing on Ft. Sam Houston and Camp Bullis. Ft. Sam Houston ISD is not part of the Department of Defense Education Activity school system. It is an independent school district subject to the jurisdiction of the Texas Education Agency.

Harlandale Independent School District ( accepted its first students in 1888 in the Granary at the San Jose Mission. Subsequent moves eventually brought students to Harlandale’s campuses in the early 1920s.

Judson Independent School District ( is a public school district based in Live Oak, Texas serving the cities of Converse, Kirby and Selma, as well as portions of Live Oak, Universal City and San Antonio, with its headquarters in Live Oak.

Lackland Independent School District ( is a public independent school district serving families who reside in base housing.

Marion Independent School District ( is based in Marion, TX. The district also serves the cities of Santa Clara and New Berlin, as well as the community of Zuehl.

Medina Valley Independent School District ( is based in Castroville, TX and also serves the city of LaCoste. Located in Medina County, a small portion extends into Bexar County.

New Braunfels Independent School District ( encompasses 15 campuses including one early childhood  center, nine elementary campuses, two middle school schools, one ninth grade center, one 10th – 12th grade high school, and one alternative learning center. It now serves 9,000 students.

North East Independent School District ( serves the north central and northeast areas of Bexar County, covering approximately 144 square miles. It was founded in 1950 and as of today, it educates approximately 64,000 students on 70 campuses.

Northside Independent School District ( is headquartered in Leon Valley, Texas. It is the largest school district in the San Antonio area and the fourth largest in the state of Texas. It has 106,000 students and 6,240 on its faculty in its 120 schools.

Randolph Field Independent School District ( is a public school district based in Universal City, Texas. It was founded in 1932 and has approximately 1,367 students as of 2015-16.

San Antonio Independent School District ( was founded in 1899. It serves San Antonio and Balcones Heights. As San Antonio’s founding school district, SAISD schools have served the heart of San Antonio for more than 100 years with more than 90 schools.

Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City Independent School District ( is located about 20 miles northeast of downtown San Antonio.

Seguin Independent School District ( is based in Seguin, TX. In addition to Seguin, the district also serves the communities of McQueeney and Kingsbury.

Somerset Independent School District ( is a public school district based in Somerset TX. Established in 1922, it is located in Bexar County. The district currently has approximately 3,500 students.

Southside Independent School District ( serves more than 5,600 with approximately 400 teachers.

Southwest Independent School District ( is located in southwestern Bexar County. The district covers a 115-square mile area that includes portions of San Antonio and Von Ormy.

South San Antonio Independent School District ( serves southern and southwestern portions of San Antonio. It is the 107th largest district in Texas with an enrollment of 9,960 students.

Metro Area Private & Parochial Schools

Mount Sacred Heart School, San Antonio, Texas
Hill Country Montessori,
New Braunfels
Calvary Baptist
Cross Lutheran
New Braunfels Christian
St. John Paul II High
St. Peter & Paul
San Antonio
Antioch Christian
Antonian College
Blessed Sacrament
Buckner Fanning
Christian School at Castle
Central Catholic High
Concordia Lutheran
Cornerstone Christian
Eleanor Kolitz
Gateway Christian
Healy Murphy
Holy Cross High
Holy Name Catholic
Holy Spirit Catholic
Incarnate Word High
Little Flower Catholic
Lutheran High
MacArthur Park Lutheran
Marantha Adventist
Montessori School of San
Mount Sacred Heart
Providence Catholic
St. Anthony High
St. George
St. Gerard High
St. Gregory the
St. Luke's
Saint Mary's
St. Matthew
St. Peter Prince of
San Antonio
San Antonio
Shepherd of the Hills
The Circle
TMI-The Episcopal
Trinity Christian
Special Needs
Sunshine Cottage (Deaf)
Winston School (learning)
Saint James Catholic
Our Lady of Perpetual
Universal City
First Baptist